Groww Logo
Home>Personal Finance>NSE Holidays 2022
SHARE

NSE Holidays 2022

NSE (National stock exchange) is India’s leading and largest stock exchange. It has become the 10th largest stock exchange in the world with a market capitalization of more than US$ 3.4 trillion. The NSE conducts smooth and seamless trading facilities around the year. It is open for trading from 9.15 a.m. – 3.30 p.m. (normal session) on weekdays, offering a trading session of 6 hours and 15 minutes. NSE trading holidays are observed on both Saturdays and Sundays. On these trading holidays, no trading takes place on the equity sector, equity derivative segment, and SLB segment.

Apart from weekends, specific national and cultural holidays fall under the NSE holiday list. The 2022 NSE Market holidays are observed on the following occasions:

Trading Holidays for 2022 – Equity Segment, Equity Derivative Segment and SLB Segment

Holiday Day Date
Republic Day Wednesday January 26,2022
Mahashivratri Tuesday March 01,2022
Holi Friday March 18,2022
Annual Bank Closing Friday April 01,2022
Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti/Mahavir Jayanti Thursday April 14,2022
Good Friday Friday April 15,2022
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan ID) Tuesday May 03,2022
Buddha Pournima Monday May 16,2022
Moharram Tuesday August 09,2022
Independence Day Monday August 15,2022
Parsi New Year Tuesday August 16,2022
Ganesh Chaturthi Wednesday August 31,2022
Dussehra Wednesday October 05,2022
Diwali * Laxmi Pujan Monday October 24,2022
Diwali-Balipratipada Wednesday October 26,2022
Gurunanak Jayanti Tuesday November 08,2022

The holidays falling on Saturday / Sunday are as follows:

Holiday Day Date
Chatrapati Shivaji Jayanti Saturday February 19,2022
Gudi Padwa Saturday April 02,2022
Ram Navami Sunday April 10,2022
Maharashtra Day Sunday May 01,2022
Bakri Id Sunday July 10,2022
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Sunday October 02,2022
Id-E-Milad Sunday October 09,2022
Christmas Sunday December 25,2022

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on October 24, 2022 (Diwali). Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Also, Read – BSE Holiday List 2022

Trading Holidays for the Calendar Year 2022 for the Commodity Derivatives Segment

Festival Date Day Morning Session (9 am – 5 pm) Evening Session (5 pm – 11.30/11.55 pm)
Republic Day January 26,2022 Wednesday Closed Closed
Mahashivratri March 01,2022 Tuesday Closed Open
Holi March 18,2022 Friday Closed Open
Mahavir Jayanti / Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14,2022 Thursday Closed Open
Good Friday April 15,2022 Friday Closed Closed
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id) May 03,2022 Tuesday Closed Open
Muharram August 09,2022 Tuesday Closed Open
Independence Day August 15,2022 Monday Closed Closed
Ganesh Chaturthi August 31,2022 Wednesday Closed Open
Dussehra October 05,2022 Wednesday Closed Open
Diwali * Laxmi Pujan October 24,2022 Monday
Diwali Balipratipada October 26,2022 Wednesday Closed Open
Gurunanak Jayanti November 08,2022 Tuesday Closed Open

The holidays falling on Saturday / Sunday are as follows:

Holiday  Date Day
New Year Day 01 January, 2022 Saturday
Ram Navami 10 April, 2022 Sunday
Maharashtra Day 01 May, 2022 Sunday
Bakra Eid 10 July, 2022 Sunday
Gandhi Jayanti 02 October, 2022 Sunday
Christmas 25 December, 2022 Sunday

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on October 24, 2022 (Diwali). Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Trading Holidays for the Calendar Year 2022 for Currency Derivatives Segment and Interest Rate Derivatives segment

Holiday Date Day
Republic Day 26 January, 2022 Wednesday
Mahashivratri 01 March, 2022 Tuesday
Holi 18 March, 2022 Friday
Annual Bank Closing 01 April, 2022 Friday
Ambedkar Jayanti/Mahavir Jayanti 14 April, 2022 Thursday
Good Friday 15 April, 2022 Friday
Eid-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan ID) 03 May, 2022 Tuesday
Buddha Purnima 16 May, 2022 Monday
Muharram 09 August, 2022 Tuesday
Independence Day 15 August, 2022 Monday
Parsi New Year 16 August, 2022 Tuesday
Ganesh Chaturthi 31 August, 2022 Wednesday
Dussehra 05 October, 2022 Wednesday
Diwali/Laxmi Puja 24 October, 2022 Monday
Diwali Balipratipada 26 October, 2022 Wednesday
Gurunanak Jayanti 08 November, 2022 Tuesday

The holidays falling on Saturday / Sunday are as follows:

Holiday  Date Day
Chatrapati Shivaji Jayanti 19 February, 2022 Saturday
Gudi Padwa 02 April, 2022 Saturday
Ram Navami 10 April, 2022 Sunday
Maharashtra Day 01 May, 2022 Sunday
Bakra Eid 10 July, 2022 Sunday
Gandhi Jayanti 02 October, 2022 Sunday
Id E-Milad 09 October, 2022 Sunday
Christmas 25 December, 2022 Sunday

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on October 24, 2022 (Diwali). Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Investors can easily purchase or sell securities during this time on weekdays, barring NSE holidays. While retail customers have to employ online brokerage agencies for any trade, institutional investors can transact through block deals at the time during trading hours in NSE.

Muhurat Trading

Muhurat Trading is an auspicious stock market trading occasion wherein the trading happens for an entire hour on Diwali which is one of the most celebrated festivals in India.

FAQs on NSE Holidays

Will the share market open on 1st January 2022?

The first trading day of 2022 will be 3 January (Monday).

What is the total number of trading holidays in 2022?

For the year 2022, there are a total of 16 weekdays holidays and 8 weekends holidays.

When will be the Muhurat trading in 2022?

It will be on 24 October 2022, on the occasion of Diwali.

What if a holiday falls on the weekly expiry of equity options contracts?

If a holiday overlaps with the weekly contract expiry day, then as per the regulations, the NSE shifts the expiry to a day preceding the holiday.

What will be the last stock market holiday in 2022?

For the year 2022, Guru Nanak Jayanti which will fall on 08 November, will be the last stock market holiday or NSE market holiday.

What does a settlement holiday trade mean?

A Settlement holiday means the day when the markets remain open but the depositories remain closed.


Mutual Fund Calculator
Lumpsum Calculator
PPF Calculator
EMI Calculator
Mutual Fund Return Calculator
EPF Calculator
Car Loan EMI Calculator
SWP Calculator
Gratuity Calculator
Personal Loan EMI Calculator
Sukanya Samriddhi Yojana Calculator
HRA Calculator
Home Loan EMI Calculator
FD Calculator
CAGR Calculator
SBI EMI Calculator
RD Calculator
GST Calculator
SBI Personal Loan EMI Calculator
NPS Calculator
HDFC EMI Calculator
SBI Home Loan EMI Calculator
Simple Interest Calculator
HDFC Personal Loan EMI Calculator
SBI PPF Calculator
Compound Interest Calculator
HDFC Home Loan EMI Calculator
SBI RD Calculator
Interest Rate Calculator
HDFC FD Calculator
SBI SIP Calculator
HDFC RD Calculator
SBI FD Calculator
ⓒ 2016-2022 Groww. All rights reserved, Built with in India
MOST POPULAR ON GROWWVERSION - 3.1.1
STOCK MARKET INDICES:  S&P BSE SENSEX |  S&P BSE 100 |  NIFTY 100 |  NIFTY 50 |  NIFTY MIDCAP 100 |  NIFTY BANK |  NIFTY NEXT 50
MUTUAL FUNDS COMPANIES:  ICICI PRUDENTIAL |  HDFC |  NIPPON INDIA |  ADITYA BIRLA SUN LIFE |  SBI |  UTI |  FRANKLIN TEMPLETON |  KOTAK MAHINDRA |  IDFC |  DSP |  AXIS |  TATA |  L&T |  SUNDARAM |  PGIM |  INVESCO |  LIC |  JM FINANCIAL |  BARODA PIONEER |  CANARA ROBECO |  HSBC |  IDBI |  INDIABULLS |  MOTILAL OSWAL |  BNP PARIBAS |  MIRAE ASSET |  PRINCIPAL |  BOI AXA |  UNION KBC |  TAURUS |  EDELWEISS |  NAVI |  MAHINDRA |  QUANTUM |  PPFAS |  IIFL |  Quant |  SHRIRAM |  SAHARA |  ITI