NSE Holidays 2019

National Stock Exchange(NSE) Holiday List in India 2019

NSE (National stock exchange) is India’s largest stock exchange, with a market capitalisation value of US$. 2.7 trillion. NSE is open for trading from 9.15 a.m. – 3.30 p.m. (normal session) on weekdays. NSE trading holidays are observed on both Saturdays and Sundays.

Apart from weekends, specific national and cultural holidays fall under NSE holiday list. Trading NSE holidays 2019 are observed on the following occasions:

S. No. Occasion  Date
1. Republic day 26th January
2. Mahashivratri 4th march
3. Holi 21st march
4. Ram Navami 13th April
5. Ambedkar Jayanti 14th April
6. Mahavir Jayanti 17th April
7. Good Friday 19th April
8. Lok Sabha elections 29th April
9. Mayday 1st May
10. Eid-ul-Fitr 5th June
11. Bakr- Eid 12th august
12. Independence Day 15th august
13. Ganesh Chaturthi 2nd September
14. Muharram 10th September
15. Gandhi Jayanti 2nd October
16. Dusshera 8th October
17. General Assembly elections in Maharashtra 21st October
18. Diwali 28th October
19. Guru Nanak Jayanti 12th November
20. Christmas 25th December

NSE holidays are also observed on days when banks are closed for processing transactions. Such days are known as clearing NSE holidays when the stock exchange is open for trading, but not settlement of any purchase or sell orders.

NSE India holidays for clearing of trade requests can be listed as follows:

S. No. Occasion  Date
1. Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti 19th February
2. Republic day 26th January
3. Mahashivratri 4th march
4. Holi 21st march
5. Annual closing 1st April
6. Ram Navami 13th April
7. Ambedkar Jayanti 14th April
8. Mahavir Jayanti 17th April
9. Good Friday 19th April
10. Lok Sabha elections 29th April
11. Mayday 1st May
12. Eid-ul-Fitr 5th June
13. Bakr- Eid 12th august
14. Independence Day 15th august
15. Ganesh Chaturthi 2nd September
16. Muharram 10th September
17. Gandhi Jayanti 2nd October
18. Dusshera 8th October
19. General Assembly elections in Maharashtra 21st October
20. Diwali 28th October
21. Guru Nanak Jayanti 12th November
22. Christmas 25th December

Even though Diwali is observed as one of NSE India holidays, an hour of ‘Muhurat trading’ is conducted. NSE remains open for trading between 5.00 p.m. to 6.30 p.m. for this purpose, as transactions made during time is considered to be auspicious.

It has been observed that Nifty (NSE benchmark index) closes at a higher value on this day, as trade volume is significantly high. Individuals undertake some form of investment in the stock market on this day, as a method of honouring Goddess Lakshmi.

Apart from NSE holidays, trade is conducted every single day in the stock market from 9.00 a.m. to 3.30 p.m. This is also known as the normal or continuous session, as no breaks are allotted to the traders’ present. A pre-opening and post-closing session is also followed in the national stock exchange, wherein orders can be modified or withdrawn if placed in a specific time frame.

An opening session can be divided into three major segments, such as:

  • 9.00 a.m. – 9.08 a.m. 

Any trade at previous day’s closing price can be placed. Orders for purchase or sale of securities can be modified in this phase.

  • 9.08 a.m. 9.12 a.m.

Limiting the order system is followed to determine opening price at which securities will be traded in the normal session. No modifications are allowed in this time period.

  • 9.12 a.m. – 9.15 a.m. 

This time is utilised to ensure a smooth transition between the opening and normal session. No orders can be placed or during this tenure as well.

Standard transactions take place during a normal session. After the market closes for the day at 3.30, closing prices are determined at which bids can be placed from 3.30 p.m. to 3.40 p.m.

Investors can easily purchase or sell securities during this time on weekdays, barring NSE holidays. While retail customers have to employ online brokerage agencies for any trade, institutional investors can transact through block deals at the time during trading hours in NSE.

Mutual Fund Calculator
Lumpsum Calculator
PPF Calculator
EMI Calculator
Mutual Fund Return Calculator
EPF Calculator
Car Loan EMI Calculator
SWP Calculator
Gratuity Calculator
Personal Loan EMI Calculator
Sukanya Samriddhi Yojana Calculator
HRA Calculator
Home Loan EMI Calculator
FD Calculator
CAGR Calculator
SBI EMI Calculator
RD Calculator
GST Calculator
SBI Personal Loan EMI Calculator
NPS Calculator
HDFC EMI Calculator
SBI Home Loan EMI Calculator
Simple Interest Calculator
HDFC Personal Loan EMI Calculator
SBI PPF Calculator
Compound Interest Calculator
HDFC Home Loan EMI Calculator
SBI RD Calculator
Interest Rate Calculator
HDFC FD Calculator
SBI SIP Calculator
HDFC RD Calculator
SBI FD Calculator